If its working, its right

High five cropped

(Photo: Wil and his speech therapist since birth, Miss Theresa)

Oh, judgement. You would think us parents of kids with special needs would be the last to judge.

Aren’t we the ones who are always getting upset over people judging our kids and confining them to specific standards and stereotypes?

Many of us parents support each other, and I am eternally grateful for that. When I’m on the receiving end of support when I need it, it feels no less than as if someone spread out their wings and caught me as I fell off a cliff.

Yet, I also have been on the receiving end of judgement.

Don’t we moms of kids with special needs have enough on our plates without having to poke around on someone else’s?

I see this judgement flare up in the way we moms approach conflict. Some of us come in with both barrels ablazing, and some of us have a more subtle approach.

I employ the subtle approach. I will not stand in judgement of anyone else’s approach, but I will stand in defense of mine.

For some reason, there is this concept that subtle is not powerful. I have not found that to be the case at all.

I like my concerns and ideas to be heard, and I know others want the same. So I give a listening ear so I know where they are coming from, and I give my take, and we go from there. It may not be loud, but I’ve found this approach to be very effective.

Your way may not be mine, and mine may not be yours, but if its working, its right. If its not, change it.

We moms of kids with special needs should know this and respect this more than anyone.

All the best,

Christie

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. meredith0929
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 19:07:36

    I just love reading your blog. Every post I think, “Exactly!”

    Reply

  2. Kodiak My Little Grizzly
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 23:08:17

    I hope your are not being criticized!!!! I hate how others think I should run my or my kids life when they literally have no clue what it’s like. But I have learned to just blow it off as clueless. :-)

    Reply

    • Christie Taylor
      Apr 26, 2013 @ 19:16:42

      I appreciate that…in making decisions for my son, I believe the focus should be on obtaining an open communication, not us against them. Some don’t agree with me, and have made that known, but it has worked well for having my son’s needs met.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 469 other followers

