The hilarity of the nostril

IMG_1352[1]

Yesterday, my daughter, Katherine, who is 8, asked how many days until school starts again.

She and her twin sister, Elizabeth, will be in 3rd grade, and we started talking about what 3rd grade is like.

It’s really cool to have a conversation with my kids about a year I remember well(and also kind of sad. How did those chubby, little babies grow up so fast?!).

Third grade was a good year for me. I was in the same class as my best friend, Kelly, and we had a wonderful teacher, Mrs. Plautz.

Mrs. Plautz had the class write a few short stories that year. One story I wrote received her praise and attention. She found it very humorous, and because I adored Mrs. Plautz, I’ve always remembered it.

In the story, there was a king who enjoyed his spaghetti so much, he thought everyone should eat spaghetti. Having the power to do so, he ordered the entire kingdom eat only spaghetti.

At dinnertime one night, with everyone out and about, eating their required spaghetti, a hungry robin flew overhead and couldn’t believe his good fortune. This robin swooped down and perched right on the edge of the king’s plate and began eating his noodles.

The robin thought they were worms.

Such innocent humor!

When does that disappear?

That is one thing that I love so much about being around my kids. I’m always moving around at high-speed, and they have the ability to slow me down and point out something I see everyday, and find humor in it.

The other night, when I was putting my son, Wil, to bed, we went through our typical routine. He names a part of my face, then gives it a little kiss (yes, it’s as adorable as it sounds).

This particular night, he discovered a new part of the face…nostrils.

He pointed at my nostrils, and asked, “What’s that?”

I told him and, continuing with our ritual, he said, “Kiss your nostrils?”

I immediately broke out laughing, so then he started laughing. Now, every night, my nostrils have become a big joke. He’ll ask to kiss them and then immediately break down into a huge belly laugh.  Pure joy, I tell you, over nostrils.

I could list a thousand and one more examples my kids come up with. It’s a daily thing, and I hope it continues for years to come, but I know, over time, it will slowly slip away.

But right here, right now, I’m going to laugh my head off over nostrils or whatever else is the silly subject of the moment.

All the best,

Christie

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kodiak My Little Grizzly
    Jul 31, 2013 @ 04:48:29

    I love getting silly with my kids!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 469 other followers

