“What was it like to be told your child has Down syndrome?”

Wilyetagain

I’ve been asked a number of times, out of simple benign curiosity, how I handled it when Wil was born and we were told he had Down syndrome. Dumbfounded and clueless, most definitely! But, as I sought out supports and devoured books on Ds, I heard over and over how I will be the better for having a child Ds.

My first thought at that comment “that I will be the better for it” was, how selfish is that?!  Its not about bettering me, its about giving Wil the best life possible. Well, almost 6 years later I’m here to tell you that by embracing this change in our lives, I AM better…I have more endurance, compassion and selfless behavior. Many challenges, yes, and people close to me who don’t embrace this new way of life, yes, but, even so, by working on making the best life for Wil, I have become better for this experience.

I guess what I’m trying to say is, if you have a big question mark in your life, don’t get “stuck”…its not good for you or anyone around you. Being “stuck” and not embracing the change is what is selfish. Get out there and find people who support you, don’t wait for them to come to you…listen to them, learn from them, be grateful for what they share with you, take what works for you and USE IT, and pay it forward to others that can benefit from your experiences.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susanna
    Jan 05, 2013 @ 11:46:56

    Terrific advice!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

