Ready for the next pitch

Image

See this guy…he gives the BEST hugs ever. Even if you haven’t been on the receiving end of one of Wil’s hugs, I bet a million dollars this picture put a smile on your face. We all know how great a hug can be, especially when it comes from someone you adore. But even a hug from a well meaning acquaintance might be all it takes to give us a boost to take on the day.

Accepting and giving hugs is healing for both the giver and the receiver. So, if that is true, wouldn’t giving a hug to ourselves be doubly as good?

Give yourself a hug by being good to your body. Its here to serve you, so treat it well. Exercise, eat healthy and make time to be alone. Not everyone loves to exercise and eat healthy, but do what you can…baby steps are still forward moving. The successes you see will motivate you to do more. I sure love a DQ Blizzard, and I enjoy them on occasion, but I feel a heck of a lot better after a workout and a healthy meal with the treat of a piece of dark chocolate. I also like looking at the person in the mirror a lot more, because I am proud of her for what she has done for herself.

Time alone is a big hug to ourselves. You can’t learn to love yourself if you don’t know the person you are with 24/7. Maybe you are one of the lucky people that felt comfortable in your own skin from day 1. I’m a late bloomer in that respect, and have learned by trial and error. But after some learning experiences, lots of spiritual reading, and a few great friends, I’m well on my way. I also love how life is a continuous learning experience, and even when we start to get comfy in our own skin, we continue to discover new capacities within ourselves and how we can continue to evolve if we allow ourselves.

If I could go back in time, I would change a few things. I’m not proud of some of my past behaviors, and I’m sure there are plenty in the future that I will not be proud of. But, that said, I have learned from every single one, and I have used them to know what I do and don’t want to do in this present time. And because I’ve been able to look at these past experiences as tools for learning instead of being stuck in regret, I’m able to hug myself for who I was at the time, and move on to be a better me now.

Life is going to throw me more curveballs, but this time I welcome them. Every time I step up to the plate, I get better at realizing when I need to jump out of the way or nail it out of the park.

Life ain’t easy, but it can be good. Count your blessings, be good to yourself, hug others freely, accept a hug when its given, and step up to the plate ready for the next pitch.

All the best,
Christie

Leave a Reply

