Get “Real”

 

IMG_1603

Last night, I had a brief conversation with an English teacher. She looked exactly like my favorite kind of English teacher…lovely gray hair pinned up in a unique barrette, a loose, flowing beautiful outfit, free-spirited and full of life. Of course, she knows her authors and the quality of a writer, and I was thoroughly enjoying listening to her knowledge on the subject.

This teacher was telling me about a woman who is an accomplished author who started her writing journey by blogging. This author she spoke of had a child with special needs, and her work surrounded those experiences. The English teacher spoke of how beautifully this author writes, and described her as a “real writer.”

Of course, every single one of us is “real” but the talent implied by using this word was understood. There are few of us that have a special talent in the arts, and it seems that those that have it, are just born with it. We can practice our hearts out, but never compose like Mozart, blow a trumpet like Miles Davis, or melt the heart like Josh Groban. Enjoying the gifts these talented artists share with us is one of the greatest pleasures in life.

Years ago, this conversation I had with the English teacher would have discouraged me from writing further. I am not a “real writer.” I don’t have that unique talent for the beautiful, written word. But, what I do have, is a passion for writing. Every time I write a blog post, it brings me joy, and it brings me hope. My hope is that at least one of these posts may open someone’s viewpoint, bring a smile or lighten someone’s heart, as these life experiences have done for me.

Audrey Hepburn is a true example of someone who did not have elite talent, but found great success pursuing her passion. Yes, she was a trained dancer, but there were many blessed with more talent. Yes, she could sing, but again, many could easily surpass her. But, she used what she did have which was a passion for the art of acting, and her own unique grace and style. It was this passion along with being uniquely herself, that won her the success she achieved. That is what I consider the true definition of “real.”

If you have a passion for something, go after it, and do it in the way that can only be yours. You might not have a rare talent, or know the applause of a crowd, but if you pursue your passion, it will bring a great joy to your life and others, and that is what makes us “real.”

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Kodiak My Little Grizzly
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 16:50:03

    Sounds like what I’m doing… Writing enough to write a book:-)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

