What a Little, Wise Guy!

Wil&Taylor July25,2012

(Photo: The little, wise guy having fun with his friend, Taylor)

Wil may be 6, and have a cuteness factor off the charts, but he teaches me things like that proverbial, wise old man, who sits alone high up a mountain, face creased with wrinkles, and a beautiful, white beard trailing down his chest.

Recently, I noticed at certain times, Wil’s eyes were too dilated for the brightness of the room.  He has hypothyroidism, and takes medication, so I thought it might be a side effect. Fortunately, we had his routine ophthalmologist and endocrinologist appointment coming up, so I could check with both of them on why this was happening.

I received the same answer from both: When we are full of excitement or happiness, our eyes dilate.

I thought about when I took notice of this dilation, and it was when our whole family was together in the kitchen and there was lots of noise and commotion. So, in times I might view as chaotic, he viewed as fun and exciting.

Here I am making dinner, all 3 kids and our 86lb dog in the kitchen with me, dog’s tail wagging like mad, knocking the kids’ photos off of the refrigerator, lots of voices and movement, and as we are typically on a time schedule to go somewhere, I am making an effort to move quickly amongst everyone in a small space.

This is when Wil morphs into that wise, old man and he tells me by his actions to stop the busy, hectic chatter in my head, and observe the beauty of the moment.

All of a sudden, I see what he sees. His wonderful sisters, so beautiful and energetic, sharing their stories of their school day. Our loving, devoted dog, happy to have the kids home from school. I’m cooking something yummy on the stove and we are all together in one place. Wil couldn’t be happier to be part of this moment.

I realized that Wil and I are experiencing the same exact moment, but I am choosing stress and he is choosing happiness.  I decided to stop that busy chatter in my head, and simply absorb the beauty of what was happening around me. You may think I’m crazy, but a complete transformation took place.

Instead of viewing all the sounds and movement surrounding me in my haste as a stress inducer, I viewed them as an energy inducer. I absorbed the kids’ happy excitement and livelihood, and focused on the beauty of us sharing this time together.

Simply slowing down for just a moment, and allowing myself to fully appreciate the gifts right in front of me, gave me more energy and patience to do what I needed to do in a short amount of time, leaving me feeling fulfilled. Ironically, trying to hurry amidst chaos, and focusing only on my task, had me feeling stressed and drained of energy. That wise, little guy is definitely on to something!

This is but one example. Wil is an expert at living in the moment, and reminds me over and over to do the same. He doesn’t preach and tell me I’m doing it all wrong. He just goes about his day, doing his thing, his lessons available to anyone who is willing to observe and learn.

How blessed I am to live with this wise, little guy! I have no high mountains to climb to learn of his lessons. My only task is to be mindful, so I’m able to recognize what he is teaching.

All the best,

Christie

**********************

You may also like:

The Flip Side

Juggler’s Anonymous

10 Ways To Feel Good About You

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Little Bird's Dad
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 12:49:37

    What a fantastic post!!

    Your kitchen sounds like ours at dinner time…the rare occasion I have been able to step outside myself and “see” it, I re-discover what a happy family we have!! Thank you for sharing!!!

    Peace,
    LBD

    Reply

  2. meredith0929
    Mar 20, 2013 @ 12:56:34

    What a wonderful post! I’m going to try to slow down and appreciate what is happening NOW, instead of always worrying about rushing off to whatever is next.

    Reply

  3. Christie
    Mar 21, 2013 @ 09:55:34

    Thank you, LBD!! Yes, the kitchen is definitely like a magnet…it seems to draw everyone in the house together at the same time 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

