Is It Spring Yet?

Lambs Cropped

Its been a crazy spring here in Michigan…yesterday it was 70 degrees and today I’m watching big flakes of snow fall from the sky.

Most of us here in the mitten are more than ready to see winter go and are begging spring to stick around for more than a few days at a time.

As fickle and frustrating as season change can be, I’m thankful for the greater appreciation of nature it gives me.

I love to drive with my windows open and hear the birds and frogs chirping because they were silent all winter. I notice the tiniest buds on trees, because only a few days ago, the branches were barren and brown. Each time I walk outside, I’m energized by the fresh spring smell in the air.

Every season has its appealing points, and not so appealing points. Seeing snow today is frustrating, but when it is in the 60s tomorrow, it is going to feel like a slice of heaven after experiencing the frigid temps today.

Finding my way through season change is, in many ways, relateable to raising a child with special needs.

There are times when learning certain concepts are fairly easy, and times when concepts take time for my son to grasp. We have lots of stops and starts, just like the transition into a new season.

Right now, my son is having trouble understanding sequences. For example, his teacher will have a repeating pattern of a circle-square-triangle. In one of the patterns, the square will be missing, and he will be asked which shape is missing. He has not grasped this concept yet.

We keep slugging through, working, working, working, with no progress. But, I know that he will get it, so we keep moving forward, trying new ways and methods.

Just like the fickle weather, success will happen, but it will come when its ready.

But, I’ll tell you this…I now have a greater appreciation for every detail of success, no matter how small. And when he gets it, it feels like a slice of heaven.

All the best,

Christie

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristi Campbell
    Apr 25, 2013 @ 03:03:10

    I had to come check out the blog who dumped me from #1 in the Special Needs category of Top Mommy Blogs…and I am so glad that I did. We all have such a greater appreciation for our little slice of heaven.

    Reply

    • Christie Taylor
      Apr 25, 2013 @ 13:30:31

      Haha, thanks for the visit! I love the special needs category of Top Mommy Blogs…we all share in the knowing of what that slice of heaven feels like. Nothing sweeter than our kiddos’ successes!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

