Life is good….even if it is covered in coffee stains

coffee love

Life is good…even if it is covered in coffee stains.

My daughter was working on a report on my computer, and I happened to have a full cup of coffee next to the computer. She bumped the coffee and some of it splashed on my computer, but the majority of the spill landed on her papers. (My computer is fine except the ‘five’, ‘six’ and ‘dash’ keys no longer work)

After my daughter’s gasp at the unexpected accident, she calmly got up and grabbed some paper towels. She then dabbed the coffee off of the papers, and carefully placed them on the kitchen table to dry. The only thing she said was, “Sorry, I didn’t know that mug still had coffee in it. The papers are coffee(dash)stained, but my teacher can still see all the work is done.”

Wow, where did this girl come from? If she cried over spilled coffee or got angry that I left a full cup in her work space, I would have understood. But she did none of that. No matter whose fault it was, the situation was what it was. She took responsibility for herself and the situation was handled. Life was still good, even if it was covered in coffee stains.

We adults have acted with less maturity then my 8(dash)year(dash)old girl. I know I have!  Sure, our problems might be equated to a scalding pot being poured directly into our laps. And, ouch, that is going to scar! Yet, no matter who did the spilling or why, the only thing we have control over is our own reaction. It’s up to us whether we want to linger in the mess, and surely we’d be justified in doing so, or we can dab it up the best we can and move on.

Or, wait, maybe the lesson to be learned here is to quit drinking coffee? But to me that would mean not really living. So, back to where I started: Life is good…even if it is covered in coffee stains.

The End.

Leave a Reply

