Magic in Mosquitos

Last night, Matt built a fire in our outdoor firepit. The girls eventually tired of it, and went inside. Wil wanted to stay, so I stayed with him. He plopped up on my lap in an old wire chair, and we gently rocked back and forth, my arms wrapped around him. Dusk was settling in, our yellow lab Woody was splayed out on the cool of the grass, and the kittens started play fighting, rolling and tumbling in their agile, quiet way, over the low rocks of the retaining wall. All very relaxing and satisfying. Until the mosquitos started buzzing around.

“Wil, these mosquitos are going to eat us up. I’m sorry, but we need to go in, buddy.”

Wil extended his arms and legs, took a long, thoughtful look at them, then said, “Hey! I’m not food!” He burst out laughing, which of course, is highly contagious, so I immediately joined in.

Life is full of magic, I must never forget that.

I find I can look at something so long, that I think I know it. So when it shows up to threaten the party, I can quickly become annoyed by it, bored by it, or even get to the point of being jaded by it. Then, POOF! Something happens where I see what I thought I knew in a whole new way.

Life is so much fuller when I have the “WIL”ingness in my life opening my mind to the magic!

TBT
Leave a Reply

